Section III identifies subjects that constitute “specialties” within the non-core collection. Some topics have a range, such as 2-3, or 3-4. This means there are subtopics that relate to clinics, centers and on-going faculty research with a higher collection level. Our collection focus is United States Law (KF) as reflected in the chart below, and we make it a priority to purchase KF monographic titles from academic publishers. We occasionally purchase “law AND” titles, as well as H, J, K, KD, KE and KG-KZ, but these are minimal, and not exhaustively identified below.
1—2 Out of Scope/Minimal: For the sake of brevity, this Policy does not identify Level 1 (Out of Scope), and selectively identifies Level 2 subjects.
3—Basic: A basic collection will support intermittent or irregular research. Typically, such research will correlate to an elective course. A basic level is mostly satisfied by our “core primary materials”—as well as our core legal databases. In addition, a basic collection will include the seminal treatise, as well as any additional treatises, monographs, review aids or course materials that support the elective. It may also include a specialized journal, newsletter or database.
4—Intermediate: An intermediate level will support regular and moderately complex research, typically the level of research done by students in a required course or an elective which meets the advanced writing requirements. An intermediate level will also support the research done by students in the clinical programs. An intermediate collection will always include a textbook, any study aids, at least two treatises, and relevant journals, newsletters, and databases. It may also include multiple loose-leaf services, monographs, conference proceedings and specialized reference materials.
4—Research: This level supports faculty and student scholarly research. It seeks to be extensive and thorough.
5—Core/Comprehensive: Our selection criteria for most of our "core" materials (i.e., the law) are covered in Sections I & II above. There is only one “about” topic that is Level 5: Michigan materials containing legislation, cases, administrative materials and expert commentary about the law. We seek to purchase and maintain a comprehensive collection of current and historic materials.
Subject Area |
Collection Level |
LC |
|
Administrative Law |
4 |
KF 5401–5425 |
|
Admiralty |
2 |
KF 1096-1114 |
|
Agricultural Law |
3 |
KF 1681-1755 |
|
Alternative Dispute (US) – Arbitration & Mediation |
4 |
KF 9084-9086 |
|
American Bar Association publications |
3 |
Call Numbers Vary |
|
Animal Law |
4 |
KF 3841-3845 |
|
Antitrust |
2 |
KF 1631-1657 |
|
Art Law |
2 |
KF 4288-4312 |
|
Banking |
2 |
KF 966-1032 |
|
Bankruptcy |
3 |
KF 1501-1548 |
|
Bar Review/Professional Ethics |
4 |
KF 303-315 |
|
Bioethics/Biotechnology |
3 |
KF 3821-3838 |
|
Biography |
2-3 |
Call Numbers Vary. Judges and DEI trailblazers Level 3, famous litigators Level 2 |
|
Business Associations |
4
|
KF 1355-1480 |
|
Canadian Law --primary --secondary |
3 2 |
KD |
|
Children & the Law |
3 |
KF 479, 540-550 |
|
Civil Procedure |
3 |
KF 8810-9075 |
|
Civil Rights |
3-4 |
KF 4741-4788 |
|
Commercial Transactions
|
3 |
KF 827-1053 |
|
Communications and Transportation |
3 |
KF 2161-2849 |
|
Conflict of Laws |
3 |
KF 410-418 |
|
Constitutional Law |
3-4 |
KF 4501-5130 |
|
Consumer Protection |
2 |
|
|
Construction Law |
2 |
KF 1950 |
|
Contracts |
3-4 |
KF 801-1244 |
|
Corporations Non-Profits |
3-4 4 |
KF 1384-1480 |
|
Criminal Law |
3 |
KF 9201-9279 |
|
Criminal Procedure |
3-4 |
KF 9601-9797 |
|
Damages-Remedies |
2 |
KF 9010 |
|
|
|
|
|
Domestic Relations – Family Law |
3-4 |
KF 501-553 |
|
Education Law |
3 |
KF 4119-4225 |
|
Employment Discrimination |
3 |
KF 3464-3469 |
|
English Law |
2 |
KD |
|
Environmental Law –Domestic International |
3 |
KF 3775-3817 |
|
Ethics – Attorney -medical -business -general philosophy |
4 3 2 2
|
KF 305-311 / other ethic call numbers vary
|
|
European Union |
2-3 |
KJE 945 |
|
Federal Courts |
3 |
KF 8700-8807 |
|
Evidence -theory & policy -practice |
3 4 |
KF 8935 |
|
Family Law -international -domestic |
2 4 |
KF 504-505 |
|
Federal Courts -courts -jurisdiction |
4 4 3 |
KF 8700-8807 |
|
Federal Indian Law |
4 |
KF 8204-8260 |
|
Foreign Jurisdictions (except English & Canadian) |
2 |
Call Numbers Vary |
|
Form books (General) |
3 |
Call Numbers Vary |
|
Gaming Law -national -Michigan |
2 2 |
The Tribal Law faculty will be consulted for pertinent titles. |
|
Gender & the Law (including Gay Rights) |
4 |
KF 4554, 9325 |
|
Health Law |
2-3 |
KF 3821-3825 |
|
Housing |
3-4 |
KF 5721-5740 |
|
Human Rights |
2 |
|
|
Immigration – Emigration Refugees |
4 |
KF 4800-4848 |
|
Insurance
|
2
|
KF 1164-1238 |
|
Intellectual Property -copyright -patents -trademarks |
4 4 3 |
KF 2979-3197 |
|
International Business Transactions |
3 |
KF 1976 |
|
International Law |
2-3 |
JX 1-6731 |
|
International Trade |
3 |
|
International Trade |
3 |
|
|
Jurisprudence – Philosophy of Law |
3 |
KF 379-382 |
|
Juvenile Law |
3 |
KF 9771-9827 |
|
Labor Law
|
3
|
KF 3300-3580 |
|
Land Use Planning - Zoning |
3 |
KF 5691-5710 |
|
Law AND |
2-4 |
Call numbers vary for law AND titles; purchase depends on the “AND” topic |
|
Law in General, Comparative and Uniform |
2-3 |
K |
|
Legal Education |
4 |
KF 261-292 |
|
Legal History -Slave & Reconstruction |
2-3 4 |
KF 350-374 |
|
Legal Profession |
4 |
KF 297-334 [Center – Law, Technology & Innovation] |
|
Legal Research & Writing |
3
|
KF 240-251 |
|
Legislation Process -statutory construction -separation of powers -legislative drafting |
3 4 4 |
KF 4945-4952 |
|
Local Government – Municipal Law |
3-4 |
KF 5300-5332 |
|
Medical & Mental Health |
3 |
KF 3821-3829 |
|
Michigan Law |
5 |
KFM 4201-4799 |
|
Military Law & National Defense |
2-3 |
KF 7201-7755 |
|
Mining, Oil & Gas Law |
2 |
KF 1841-1870 |
|
Natural Resources |
4 |
KF 5505 |
|
Political Science |
2 |
J |
|
Pensions/ERISA |
2 |
KF 3509-3512 |
|
Property - Real |
3 |
KF 560-698 |
|
Public International Law |
3-4 |
This is an area of growth. |
|
Real Estate Transactions |
2 |
KF 665-705 |
|
Religion & the Law
|
4 |
Call Numbers Vary. |
|
Secured Transactions |
3 |
KF 1050-1053 |
|
Securities Regulations |
3 |
KF 1066-1084, KF 1428-1457 |
|
Social Insurance & Welfare |
2 |
KF 3600-3745 |
|
Sports Law |
3 |
KF 3989 |
|
Taxation |
3-4 |
KF 6271-6645 [Clinic] |
|
Torts -----theory & policy -----products liability |
4 3 |
KF 1246-1327 |
|
Treaties -United States -Multinational |
3 |
K 524-525 |
|
Trial Advocacy |
4 |
KF 8911-8925 [Trial Practice Institute} |
|
Trade Regulation & Commerce |
3-4 |
KF 1600-2940 |
|
Trials (Famous) -Civil & Criminal |
2 |
KF 219-228 |
|
Water Resources |
3 |
K 5551-5590 |
|
Wills & Trusts |
3 |
KF 726-780 |
|
Workers’ Compensation |
2 |
KF 3615 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|