Legal Writing Guides: One-Stop Legal Writing Guides

This book provides a ten-step guide to clear, precise, and effective legal writing and analysis for both law students and experienced lawyers. It gives the keys to writing legal memoranda and briefs, organizing analysis, crafting clear and concise sentences, using legal language accurately, using grammar and punctuation properly, writing persuasively using classical rhetorical techniques. The book describes a method for analyzing and improving individual writing style includes a sample analysis. It also includes new material on using plain English and new legal documents to illustrate effective writing techniques.

The Legal Writing Handbook, Seventh Edition offers an effective process approach to teaching legal writing. The authors take students through each of the necessary stages of the writing process, from pre-writing, drafting, and editing, to the final draft. The authors step-by-step approach assures that students will master the writing skills they will need throughout their careers.

The Legal Writing Handbook is seven books in one: Book 1 provides students with an introduction to the U.S. Legal System; Book 2 provides an introduction to legal research, with both an introduction to sources and to research strategies; Book 3 introduces students to the process of writing formal and informal memos and opinion letters; Book 4 introduces students to persuasive writing and oral advocacy; Book 5 is a guide to effective writing; Book 6 is a guide to correct writing; and Book 7 focuses on the needs of ESL writers.

Key features:

Chapters on reading and analyzing statutes and cases, mandatory and persuasive authority, and legal research
Research portion has been re-written: There are now discrete chapters that describe primary sources (3), secondary sources (4), finding tools (5), citators (6), and on mandatory and persuasive authority (7)
Step-by-step instruction on how to write formal memos, e-memos, and opinion letters
Step-by-step instruction on how to write motion and appellate briefs
A new section on mastering the sentence structures used in legal writing within ESL chapter.
Online Diagnostic Exam for Grammar and Punctuation that grades itself and sends students to the parts of the book they need to review

SUMMARY
Best practices for legal writing in the workplace and for students of law. BarCharts, Inc was founded on our law guides created by the owner, designed to understand the significance of details within the larger scheme of the law, as a daily refresher, and to review before the Bar Exam. Twenty five years later we keep those guides up to date for students of law and criminal justice, paralegals and practicing lawyers to have the most handy legal reference to the most important points of the law possible in 6 laminated pages.6-page laminated guide includes:Essentials of a Legal MemorandumCreating the HeadingExplaining the FactsDrafting the Question PresentedDrafting the Brief Answer SectionDrafting the Discussion SectionDrafting the Conclusion SectionMore Complex Organization PlansBest Practices for Editing & RevisingTypes of Legal LogicPlain English Translation TableSuggested uses:Students - keep your legal writing in check with a quick review plus constant refreshers before classes and examsProfessionals - keep your legal writing in check long after passing the Bar examBar Exam - great review tool before for taking the exam